Longing for Activism

A segment of a social network

A segment of a social network (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s been a while since I’ve posted here.  My time off, mentioned in my last post here, has been extended until late March of 2013.  It has been quite an interesting and fruitful learning experience, and the lessons continue.

I’ve recently started reading the book by Amit Goswami titled, “How Quantum Activism Can Save Civilization”.  I was led to this book via the December Science of Mind monthly publication which featured an article on Mr. Goswami.  After reading this article and recently attending a 3 week selfless service spiritual retreat in New York, I realized I longed to make a difference in society.  I recognized my inner longing to affect societal change, yet I lacked understanding of how to go about this?  I have questions such as, “Where do I start?”, “How do I affect this change locally?”, “How do I choose a type of activism that can really make a difference?”, “Do I join with others or set out on my own?”, “Is my volunteer work at the local food pantry just this type of activism?” and so forth.  I’ve only begun to read the book and will be watching the documentary again soon, so I do not have the answers to these questions yet.

In the current stage of my life I have a desire to become less self-centered, less selfish and  I don’t mean this in a critical way, but rather from a sincere desire and motive to help others.  In the words of Amit Goswami,

“We must use quantum physics guidance to restore spirituality and unity to our society, to our social institutions.”

How can I help in this restoration process?  How do I stimulate my creativity?  In the workbook associated with Goswami’s book, he states,

“To liberate the genie is to deal with our negative emotions. We live in an age when we interact with machines more than we do with each other. In this age to give up conditioning and machine-certainty and embrace the uncertainty of emotions in the search for a creative life is a tremendous challenge.  …We must develop positive emotional brain circuits and develop them collectively.  When we do that our vital mental propensities will be inherited via the nonlocal memory of our morphogenetic fields by future generations.”

My first step is to increase human contact within my life.  Second, I will find more opportunities to connect with others and talk about and contemplate my feelings and emotions.  This is a good beginning and I invite you to share your ideas, your “first steps”.  What is sacred grace leading you to do?

About Sacred Grace

I’m an ordinary man who is trying to understand our extraordinary journey.
This entry was posted in Activism, Consciousness, Evolution of Consciousness, Mysticism, Self Awareness, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

